Words Matter Week 2010 Posting #2

Communication breaks down when words are misused. What is the funniest, most interesting, or worst break-down you’ve ever observed?

I was young. Yes, I was young once. It was a time of naivete and it was my first office job. Always striving to rise among the ranks quickly and be recognized for promotions and great work… So when an opportunity would arise where I might shine, I eagerly volunteered. It was at once such occasion when I offered to take on a project. All I needed for this filing assignment was to find and insert the “drawer stretcher.” As I searched the building bottom to top for this handy device, I would return to my “cubbie” (yes I thought the cubbie was a short form of cubicle) to find the entire office laughing at me, the joke at my expense was that you could not stretch a drawer.

Leave a Reply

