my writing life

In the beginning there was a word, and the word was
Muscles!
I stared at the word, and at the end of the day I remarked,  “that was good.”

The next day another word appeared
bruised
Having pondered what I had written, I thought, “not bad.”

On the third day I was struck by the word
KEYS
Night fell like snowflakes on my pillow and I whispered in my sleep,  “I am onto something.”

Throughout the fourth day I wrestled with ideas until a line of words appeared
Muscles! bruised KEYS Idyllic
And I knew, “this is better than I imagined!”

“Thank God it’s Friday” I recalled, as I joined five words like a melody.
Muscles! bruised
KEYS Idyllic
Mourning
“This is very good,” I said.

Nouns, adjectives, adverbs, verbs all formed a powerful passage on the sixth day
Muscles Bruised
Keyes Idyllic
Mourning penetration.
And I smiled when I heard God say, “poetry!”

Clutching my week’s creation on the seventh day I rested and rejoiced.
I was now ready to write.

Leave a Reply

