March 6th -Saying Thank You to Someone as They Work

The neighborhood library is like a second home. I make a stop there every week, browsing the shelves and observing the folks as they come and go. I always chat a moment with the librarian at the check out, since we are on first name basis. And, yes, I always say thanks. Today’s visit was no exception. Except, I delivered my thank you more deliberate, with eye contact and a smile. I let Regina (yes, that is her real name) know how much I appreciate the job she does and that she represents the library well. And then something magical happened. Regina said, “I am just doing my job; but thank you for noticing how I do the work I love.”

With transformational moments in Lent— I am two for two. Giving instead of giving up something has its rewards on earth.

Leave a Reply

