What Did Helen Know?

IMG_20170507_115131.jpgThey took away what should have been my eyes, (“they” – who was this they?)

~But I remembered Milton’s Paradise.

They took away what should have been my ears,

~ Beethoven came and wiped away my tears.

They took away what should have been my tongue,

But I had talked with God when I was young. 

(Helen admits she had a conversation with God. Perhaps it was many years before this poem was written. What did she say to God? Was that the only time she spoke to God?)

He would not let them take away my soul  (He and them… He – God. Them – Who? Did she wrestle for her soul? Did she make a deal with God or the devil?)

Possessing that, I still possess the whole.

Leave a Reply

